An inside look into the Mission District’s Precita Eyes

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

I learned about Precita Eyes after talking to Jet Martinez and wanting to find out more about murals in San Francisco’s Mission District. What I found intrigued me. This organization is purely dedicated to murals; whether it’s creating them, preserving them or educating people young and old about them. That’s when I trekked to the organization’s colorful headquarters on 24th and Harrison. Everything inside was just as colorful and amazing to look at as the murals that lined the streets around it. I ended up going on a tour with Patricia Rose, one of the muralists and tour coordinator at Precita Eyes. Rain was my biggest fear that day and before arriving it was on and off. Within fifteen minutes of the tour, it was back on and that definitely put a damper on the experience. I ended up coming back a week later and even had the opportunity to speak to the artist who happened to be holding an exhibit there, Selma Brown. Overall, the experience was great and I really enjoyed compiling my audio slideshow about the organization.

Leave a Reply

